Technical article
Who Decides What Your Health Insurance Pays: France, the Netherlands and Greece
Who decides what the public system pays for, and how much is left for us?
Picture a couple named Dan and Carol. Both are 66. At home, their insurer decides what is covered, and they find out after the bill arrives. They are looking at Europe and ask one question. Who decides what the public system pays for, and how much is left for us?
France: a share of every bill
The French health insurance site publishes a table of rates. The rate is the share the system pays. You pay the rest, or a second insurance pays it.
| Care | Share paid, general scheme | Fixed amount you pay |
|---|---|---|
| GP visit (listed at EUR 30) | 70% | EUR 2 |
| Dentist visit (listed at EUR 23) | 60% | |
| Physiotherapy and similar | 60% | EUR 1 medical franchise |
| Medicines, major or important benefit | 65% | EUR 1 per box on the site's example |
| Medicines, moderate benefit | 30% | |
| Medicines, low benefit | 15% | |
| Medicines, irreplaceable and very costly | 100% | |
| Hospital stay | 80% | |
| Transport | 55% |
For people who receive certain minimum pensions (FSV or Aspa), the GP rate is 80% and transport is 100%. So in France the rule is written as a percentage for each kind of care. The page I read does not mention complementary insurance. How a newly arrived foreign resident joins is in the section below.
The Netherlands: the government sets one package
The Dutch government says: "Everyone who lives or works in the Netherlands is legally obliged to take out standard health insurance." It also says: "The government decides on the cover provided by the standard package." All insurers offer the same package, and they must charge the same fixed premium whatever your age or health. A separate contribution based on income is also paid.
The National Health Care Institute advises the minister. For medicines, it says: "The National Health Care Institute advises the Minister of VWS on whether to include medicines in the basic package." The minister then decides. Physiotherapy and dental care fall under optional extra insurance. The Dutch government page on the deductible (last changed 28 July 2026) says: "Het verplichte eigen risico voor 2026 is € 385." That is EUR 385 a year (2026) that you pay before the insurer pays for most care. The pages in the sources show no premium amount.
Greece: it depends on where your pension comes from
The page I found is from the Greek contact point for EU cross-border care, last updated 23 December 2021. It is written for EU citizens. For a retiree it says: "If you receive a Greek pension, you are covered by the Greek system." With no Greek pension, treatment is possible if you are entitled to it in the country paying your pension. You ask that country for an S1 form. The page does not list costs. For retirees from outside the EU, no official page is among the sources.
How a newcomer joins
- France. The Assurance Maladie page on universal health protection says that anyone who works, or who lives in France in a "stable and regular" way, has the right to cover. A person who lives in France for more than three months may ask for their rights to be opened. A retired foreign national sends form S1106 with a copy of the passport and a document that proves the stay is regular, such as a residence card or a visa. The list of residence titles that count is in a decree of 10 May 2017 (read 11 October 2026).
- Netherlands. The government page for people who start work says they must arrange Dutch health insurance within 4 months, and that this applies even if they still have foreign insurance. Anyone who lives or works in the Netherlands must take out the standard package. A late start can bring a fine (Rijksoverheid, read 11 October 2026).
- Spain. The Ministry of Health page says that foreigners who are legally and habitually resident, and who do not have to show cover by another route, are entitled to care. Habitual residence is shown by registration at the town hall. The ministry's "special agreement" page describes a paid scheme for people who are not otherwise covered, with no co-payments. It asks for effective residence in Spain for a continuous year before the application and registration with a municipality (read 11 October 2026).
What is left open
- Austria. The social insurance site says the prescription fee in 2026 is EUR 7.55 per package ("Im Jahr 2026 beträgt die Rezeptgebühr EUR 7,55 pro Packung"). The same page names other co-payments, for hospital stays and medical aids, without amounts. How a newcomer joins is not stated on the page in the sources.
- Spain. The Ministry of Health page points to a Royal Decree (1030/2006) that sets the common list of services and how it is updated.
- France, Greece. The waiting time for a newcomer is not stated on the pages in the sources. For Greece, nothing is given for retirees from outside the EU.
You could…
- Ask each country's health authority how a retiree from abroad joins, and from what date cover starts.
- Add up your usual yearly care using the French rates above to see what your share would be. That is my arithmetic, and it ignores second insurance.
- Ask an accountant or lawyer who works with Americans abroad to confirm how Medicare and a foreign system fit together.
Which would you rather know first: what the system pays, or what is left for you?
Figures are estimates for planning, based on public data. Date read: 10 and 11 October 2026.
Sources
- Rijksoverheid, Eigen risico
- Austrian social insurance, Rezeptgebühr
- Assurance Maladie (ameli.fr), Tableau recapitulatif des taux de remboursement
- Government of the Netherlands, Standard health insurance
- Zorginstituut Nederland
- EOPYY National Contact Point, Moving to Greece
- Spanish Ministry of Health
- Austrian health portal
- France, Assurance Maladie, La protection universelle maladie, read 11 October 2026
- Netherlands, Rijksoverheid, Is een zorgverzekering verplicht, read 11 October 2026
- Netherlands, Rijksoverheid, Moet ik een zorgverzekering afsluiten als ik in Nederland ga werken, read 11 October 2026
- Spain, Ministry of Health, special agreement, read 11 October 2026



Tell us in the comments