Technical article
The Visa Clock: How Long Each Step Takes, According to Official Pages
So three months in law may not be three months in practice.
Picture a couple named Ruth and Paul. Both are 66. They want to sell a house, move in spring, and be legal on day one. So they ask a plain question. How long from the day we apply to the day we hold a card?
I read the official pages for seven countries. Spain answers most of it. Others answer part. For Germany the pages show no retiree route at all.
The clocks, country by country
| Country | Decision on the visa | After you arrive | Money asked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spain | "3 months" in law; may stretch if an interview or papers are requested | Apply for the residence card "within a period of 1 month" of entry | EUR 28,800 a year (400% of the 2026 IPREM), plus EUR 7,200 for each dependent |
| Italy | "up to 90 days" | Within 8 working days, go to the police station (Questura) for the permit | No amount on the page; "substantial and steady" resources, not from employment |
| Portugal | "60 days" for a residence visa | Not stated | EUR 820 a month for the first adult, EUR 410 for a second (2024 figures) |
| Greece | Not stated | Not stated | EUR 2,000 a month, plus 20% for a spouse and 15% per child; permit lasts 2 years |
| Croatia | Not stated | Accommodation registered within 1 day by the host, or 2 days by the traveller; report residence to the police within 3 days | At least 60% of the average monthly net wage of the previous year for purposes other than work; about EUR 869 a month on the 2025 average of EUR 1,449 |
| Germany | Not stated | Applications go to the local foreigners authority | Not stated for retirees |
Spain, in more detail
The Spanish embassy page in Washington is the most complete I found. It gives the decision period, then adds that checks with other authorities "can take up to 3 months" from the date the consulate forwards the file, and that this "cannot be expedited". So three months in law may not be three months in practice. My arithmetic: if the two periods run one after the other, the wait could reach six months. The page does not say they do, so I am not claiming it.
The visa is valid for 1 year. The first residence card is valid for one year and can be renewed. The page shows no date, but it uses 2026 figures.
Italy, in more detail
The Italian embassy page says the process "can take up to 90 days" and that no rush service exists. After arrival, the clock is short: 8 working days to apply at the Questura. The page has no income figure. The Italian consulates in Boston, Los Angeles and Miami give one: more than EUR 31,000 a year for each applicant (read 11 October 2026).
The others, in short
- Portugal. The visa site's deadlines page says the deadline for deciding on a residence visa application is 60 days, "except in circumstances stipulated by law" (read 11 October 2026). It asks that applications be filed in advance. The immigration agency's own pages give no decision time for the permit after arrival in the sources.
- Greece. The Attica regional office page (dated November 2023, rechecked 11 October 2026) gives the income, a 2-year permit, and fees of EUR 1,000 (electronic) plus EUR 16 for the card. It states no deadline and no processing time.
- Croatia. The foreign ministry pages give no decision time. The interior ministry page on the amount of means says the rule is in a government decree (Official Gazette 14/21 and 3/26). For a temporary stay for purposes other than work the amount is at least 60% of the average monthly net wage of the previous year. The page gives the 2025 average as EUR 1,449.00, published on 4 March 2026, so my arithmetic is about EUR 869 a month (read 11 October 2026). The ministry page also says a foreigner must report residence to the police "within three days".
- Germany. The interior ministry page says stays over three months follow national law, for set purposes such as joining a spouse, study or work. It does not describe a route for retirees or timing for a first application.
- Netherlands. The immigration service's decision periods page (last update 1 October 2026) says a legal decision period of 90 days applies to the most common regular temporary permits, and that the service can extend it "to a maximum of 6 months". The page does not show whether the permit for economically inactive long-term EU residents is on the 90-day list, and the page for that permit gives no income figure.
What is left open
- Greece: no deadline or processing time is stated on the page. Ask the regional office or a lawyer in Greece.
- Germany: no retiree route is described. Ask the German mission before planning on one.
- How much room an office has in a decision. No official page explains it, so I leave it out.
You could…
- Ask your consulate for its current wait in writing.
- Keep your old home until the card is in hand.
- Ask a lawyer who works with Americans abroad (or your own nationality) to confirm the steps.
What would you do with the weeks in between?
Figures are estimates for planning, based on public data. Date read: 10 and 11 October 2026.
Sources
- Embassy of Spain in Washington, non-lucrative visa
- Embassy of Italy in Washington, elective residency
- Portugal, Vistos
- Greece, Decentralized Administration of Attica
- Croatia, Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs
- Germany, Federal Ministry of the Interior
- Netherlands, IND
- and
- Croatia, temporary residence
- Portugal, Vistos, Deadlines, read 11 October 2026
- Croatia, Ministry of the Interior, calculation and amount of means of subsistence, read 11 October 2026
- Italy, Consulate General in Boston, elective residency, read 11 October 2026



Tell us in the comments